The Illinois Writing Project Advisory Board consists of the following outstanding Chicago-area educators, consultants, and non-profit and business leaders who provide guidance on our policies, services and organization.

  • George Bailey, Retired as Associate Prof. of English at Columbia College
  • Dom Belmonte, CEO, Golden Apple Foundation (which awards great teachers and promotes new ones)
  • Akilah Bradford, Director of Human Resources, Hotel Chicago
  • Stuart Carrier, Acting Dean, College of Education, National Louis University
  • Lynn Cherkasky-Davis, Director of the Quest Center, Chicago Teachers Union (the Center provides prof. development for Chicago teachers)
  • Amy Ferraro, English Department Chair, Addison Trail HS
  • Adelfio Garcia, Principal Hedges School, Chicago
  • Anne Hallett, retired from directing the Grow Your Own Illinois program ( develops local citizens in poor communities to become teachers)
  • Marv Hoffman, retired from directing the Urban Teacher Prep Program at the U. of Chicago
  • Mark Larson, Prof. of Education, National Louis University
  • Lila Leff, head of Umoja Student Development Corporation, which promotes college-going in Chicago high schools
  • Gilo Kwesi Logan, diversity consultant, Northeastern Illinois U. adjunct faculty
  • Maria Ward, retired from principalship of Downers Grove North HS
  • Jody Wirt, Asst. Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Lake Zurich School District

IWP leaders ex-officio:

  • Jan Booth, IWP Co-Director for Summer Institutes, retired from teaching in Elgin Dist. U46
  • Pam Moriarty, IWP Co-Director/Secretary, 2nd grade teacher, River Forest
  • Dr. Katy Smith, IWP Co-Director for Events, Prof. of Education Northeastern IL U
  • Steve Zemelman, IWP Director
Like what you see here? Help us spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *